Compassionate And Accessible Legal Advocacy For Alabama

How long can someone lose their license after an Alabama DUI?

On Behalf of | Apr 2, 2024 | CRIMINAL LAW - Drunk Driving

The law in Alabama allows judges to impose a variety of penalties for different criminal charges. Someone accused of a driving under the influence (DUI) offense in Alabama might be subject to incarceration and fines. A judge can also suspend or even revoke their driver’s license.

Although people may expect lenience, especially if this is their first criminal charge, judges often hand down maximum penalties, particularly when licensing consequences are possible. Therefore, a guilty plea to a DUI charge can be more of a gamble than people initially realize.

Losing the privilege of driving can cause major financial complications. Being unable to drive can affect someone’s family or their career and leave them reliant on expensive on-demand services.

How long may a driver lose their license after a DUI conviction in Alabama?

More prior offenses mean longer suspensions

The more previous DUI convictions someone has on their criminal record, the more penalties the courts can impose for an impaired driving charge. If this is someone’s first DUI charge, a judge might suspend their driver’s license for 90 days.

If someone gets arrested for a second DUI within 10 years of the first, the courts could revoke their license for a year. A third DUI within 10 years could lead to a three-year license revocation. A felony DUI conviction could cost someone their driving privileges for a full five years.

The impact of licensing consequences is just one reason to assertively fight against DUI charges in Alabama. Those familiar with potential penalties may be more assertive when declaring their innocence after a DUI arrest.